This browser is not actively supported anymore. For the best passle experience, we strongly recommend you upgrade your browser.
| less than a minute read

European authorities lift shorting bans

In a move co-ordinated with ESMA, the short-selling bans in the six European Union countries that had imposed them will end at midnight tonight, 18 May 2020. 

The bans imposed by five countries – Austria, Belgium, France, Greece and Spain – were due to end at midnight today, and the regulators have chosen not to extend the bans. Italy has elected to end its short-selling ban a month earlier than its scheduled end date of 18 June 2020.

The requirement to report net short positions of 0.1% and above remains in place, having been reduced from 0.2% in March 2020 in all jurisdictions across the European Union, United Kingdom and European Economic Area.

Our previous posts on the short-selling bans and disclosure thresholds are here.

ESMA, in coordination with NCAs, continues to monitor developments in financial markets as a result of the COVID-19 situation and is prepared to use its powers to ensure the orderly functioning of EU markets, financial stability and investor protection.


derivatives and trading, hedge funds, banks and alt lenders, coronavirus, covid19